Resilience By Sheryl Sandberg

Sheryl Sandberg, the COO of Facebook, gave a commencement speech at the University of California, Berkeley a few weeks ago which I believe is worth sharing. There are two parts of the speech that I find absolutely outstanding: the medium and the message.

When I say the medium, I mean that the speaker was outstanding. I must confess that I’ve never really been a fan of Sheryl Sandberg. All that “Lean In” stuff really put me on edge and made me uncomfortable. Maybe it’s because I needed to hear it. 🙂 Anyways, what blew me away was how vulnerable she allowed herself to be during the speech, irrespective of the fact that she’s one of the most powerful business leaders in our world today. I was really inspired by her example, and challenged to become even more vulnerable with my co-workers, friends and family.

Now to the message. Sheryl Sandberg shocked her audience by stating that instead of sharing life lessons, she’ll share the lessons she learned from the unexpected loss of her husband. A key insight she shared is that when we experience a negative event, we process it through one of the following ways:

  • Personalization, which refers to thinking that we are to blame for everything that’s wrong in our lives,
  • Pervasiveness, which means that one bad event will affect all areas of our lives, and
  • Permanence, where we project our current feelings out indefinitely.

However, once we can sidestep these emotional land mines, and realize that:

  • We are not responsible for every bad thing that happens in our lives,
  • Being bad at one thing doesn’t mean you’re bad at everything, and
  • Our current emotions, whatever they are, won’t last forever,

We can go beyond our adversity, and instead choose joy and meaning. I’m really inspired by Sheryl Sandberg, and if you watch her speech, you just might be too. 🙂

Imabe by news18.com

Leave a Reply

