Back for the Last Lap

McManus

I took this picture a week before the beginning of pre-term classes for second years. The first years were already one week into their own pre-term at that time so I tried really hard to stay out of their way. I remember my first year pre-term and it was really intense ๐Ÿ™‚

The first week of pre-term was so good! Like any good MBA, I’ll give you three reasons why this was the case: Re-connecting with classmates, Mass to celebrate the beginning of the school year, and the pre-term crisis management class.

Reconnecting with Classmates

So Kellogg makes us take our pre-term Crisis Management class ย with our section mates, and the last time we were all together in one class was in December 2013! It was so nice to see everyone, and quickly catch up on work, travel, wedding engagements, wedding ceremonies, and babies delivered over the summer.

Mass to Celebrate the Beginning of the School Year

If you read my blog, you probably know by now that I have a catholic priest as a classmate (true story). Well, he and other members of the Catholics @ Kellogg group decided to celebrate mass to kick off the beginning of the school year. Prof. Harry Kraemer, one of our rockstar professors, agreed to host us at his apartment, and it turned out to be a really great event. My greatest fear as one of the organizers of this event was that the turnout would be really low; most people were still getting settled in and first years had pre-term exams in a few days. It turns out that we actually had a record turnout at the event, and I made a note to myself after the event:ย “sometimes you just have to take a leap of faith!”.

Crisis Management Class

This is probably not the real name of the class; I think it’s Leadership and Crisis Management but you get the idea. Unfortunately I can’t share the details of the class content (I remember signing my name on a lot of documents that said I couldn’t share ๐Ÿ™‚ ) but let’s just say that the material was really good in terms of helping one think about the ethical dilemmas that we will come across during moments of crisis in our careers, and how we can handle these dilemmas effectively. The best part for me as always was the different perspectives that people had in the class as a result of their varying personal and professional backgrounds. This is really the best part of business school.

Actual classes start tomorrow for first and second years. I’m pretty excited about some of the classes I’ll be taking this quarter: Financial Decisions, International Finance, and Strategy and Organizations. I hope I still feel the same way about these courses at the end of the quarter. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

