On Work-Life Balance

The first time I heard about the concept of work-life balance was from Jack Welch,  former Chairman and  CEO of one of the most respected companies in the world: General Electric. Through Jack Welch’s book, titled Winning, I became and remained fascinated by work-life balance related issues. I believe that achieving balance in all key areas of life, including career, finances, personal development, and contribution to society, is a valid definition of success. Nigel Marsh does a good job of addressing some key issues related to work life balance:

  1. An honest debate about it,
  2. Taking responsibility for setting and enforcing personal boundaries, and
  3. Careful selection of timeframes for judging the level of balance in our lives.

Your thoughts?

4 thoughts on “On Work-Life Balance

  1. Thanks for sharing the video, Efesa. It gave lots of good examples of what work-life balance might look like in practice.

    Work-life balance is such an important practice I use in my life daily. I don’t necessarily feel balanced every day and I find that feeling of balance has an ebb and flow. Some days, or weeks, I focus more on one area of my life than another when attempting to achieve specific goals. I balance periods of increased activity with small daily habits that attend to other areas. And the occasional relaxing weekend doesn’t hurt, either!

    1. Hi Chrysta,
      I think the fact that balance has an ebb and flow was my most important take out from the video. Attempting to ‘get it right’ everyday is a practice that sets us up for failure.
      I did a speed-read on your blog, and I can say that it has some good content. You have a reader here… 😀
      Thanks for contributing!

  2. Just a disclaimer that I have not yet watched the video. I had this notion of work and life balance floating around in my head for some time now.

    I’m thinking of developing a visualization website to track just how good you are. I’ll post a picture of what I have in my mind if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

